Lemme tell you something…

SUSAN G. KOMEN: HOUSTON, TX – 2013

I didn’t realize it last year, but with the death of my Father in September, that month, in addition to all other reasons, has become my fix.

I fixate on it and to my surprise I’m somehow stuck.

My wife was sympathetic at first but that didn’t last long (because neither of us want to be whiners). So she kicked my ass into gear by getting us involved in the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure this past October 5, 2013.

Things got off to a great start when she came back from getting our stuff. We gave our donation, she got us all nice and registered and everything, and came back home with our shirts.

I’m not a Survivor (Pink shirt), I’m Inspired (White shirt).

Me: “Baby, this is huge like an XXL.”
She: “Well it says XL.”
Me: “Honey, look at this thing on me.”
She: “We’re getting out of the house and doing something important. You got something better to do?”

Well of course I don’t. So we get up at 4:30am, drive to my sister-in-law, then over to our friend Angelica, and away we go to downtown Houston.

Are we going to Race for the Cure?

It’s a 5k! I’m not running 5k. I’ll walk.

Well then, walkers go last.

Suits me, let’s do this thing!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

This mega shirt I’m wearing is like a dress! I’ll be doing most of the camera work. This is all about my baby!

Even the National-Oilwell Varco, Inc. guys get into it, trading their somber uniforms for red ones and pink hard hats.

Hey! It’s the Breast Men! There are many facets in contributing to the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure, and believe it or not, these guys are one of them!

There is something so sad about seeing these breasts deflate at the end of the day.

It’s actually a pretty long walk just to get this far. But here we are!
Shit gets real at the START! We’re gonna do this 5K!

We have the Timberwood Middle School cheerleaders, cheering us on! Woo Hoo!

Final K of the 5K in the humid air and beneath a Houston, Texas sun.
Why yes, I’d love to be drenched in icy cold water very much, thank you!

Well of course we made it! There was never any doubt that we’d make it! We did our part! And now we’re looking forward to doing other … er… parts.

Leave a Reply

