Lemme tell you something…

ZOMBIE APOCALYPSE DISPATCHER

ZOMBIE APOCALYPSE DISPATCHER
by E.C. McMullen Jr.
Copyright 2013

– *static* – Click! –

“Dispatch. I just found a pack of them, grouped by the south side entrance of the comic convention.”

“You fucking zombies.” I growled.

The second I hoisted my baseball bat, the zombie fell back shouting,
Girl: Hey! WAIT! It’s cosplay, stupid! I’m not a real zombie!
Me: That’s what they all say!
Girl: STOP! Listen! Zombies can’t talk!
Me: Then quiet, you!

*BASH!*

*BASH! BASH!*

*SPLUT!*

I fell back against the wall, panting from exertion as the rest ran away screaming. I’m alone to face the soul-searing horror of what I’m doing. Stopping the undead feels like I’m killing real people. You don’t get used to it, or at least, I can’t get used to it.

My soul? My human compassion? They are temblors running through my body, threatening to crumble me on the spot into a sobbing incoherent mess.

That’s a luxury.

I have to be iron, have to be strong or else I’ll be helplessly crying over what I’ve done; what I’m doing; what I have to do. When that happens, when you lose it, that’s when they’ll all come for you, mob you, overwhelm you, and make you one of them.

“God damn it they fucking move like us! Sound like us! They almost look like us!”

I can no longer afford Sorrow and remorse: Not if humanity is to survive. I woke  this morning surrounded by death. Everywhere I look the dead are rising. People I most treasured in the world, my wife and children, my family, all became monsters some time in the night. We are All Becoming Monsters.

This is not about me. There is no me now that everyone I loved is dead. This is about humanity. For that higher purpose there’s no time for hesitation or pity in a zombie apocalypse.

Because there are a whole lot more of them over THERE!

All of them shouting, “MADMAN!” “HE’S INSANE!” “RUN!”

– Click! – *static* –


pb300Want more? Get my book
PERPETUAL BULLET: A Science Fiction Collection

A trove of previously published Science Fiction Horror Thriller – plus bonus stories
Featuring: True Love, Weird Sex, Monsters and Mayhem!
Now on sale for $9.00 in Trade Paperback and in eBook for $1.99 and available for your Android Tablet, iPad, Kindle, Nook, and every other “E”!
Find it at (Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Diesel, !ndigo, iTunes, KoboBooks, Smashwords, WHSmith, and more).
Buy the paperback from Amazon and get the kindle free!

Burning for more?

Look for my second collection, WILLOW BLUE and Other Stories
Five critically acclaimed tales featuring my literary twist on Weird Sex, True Love, Monsters and Mayhem! $8.00 for the paperback, $1.99 for the kindle reader or app. As always, buy the paperback from Amazon and get the kindle free!

Look for my story Cedo Looked Like People, in the anthology, FEAR THE REAPER, edited by Joe Mynhardt. Available from Crystal Lake Publishing and available in Print for $12.99 or eBook for $2.99.

Also available from Crystal Lake Publishing, the film making guidebook, HORROR 201: The Silver Scream. Reap the rewards of movie making experience from the likes of Myself as well as Ray Bradbury, John Carpenter, Wes Craven, Tom Holland, Jeffrey Reddick, George A. Romero, Keith Arem, Richard Gray, and many more. $19.99 in Print or $3.99 in eBook.

One response

  1. Pingback: ZOMBIE APOCALYPSE DISPATCHER | Eddie's Blogfolio

Leave a Reply

