Lemme tell you something…

15 YEAR OLD PROPHECY

FilmProductionHey fellow filmmakers!

Most of us are old enough to feel it, even if we’re really not that old. By that I mean a 15 year-old understands what I mean when I say, “Five years of technology is like 100 years in real life.”

That’s how rapidly our lives, our culture, what we do and how we perceive the past, present, and future, actually changes.

It is 2013 as of this writing. Look at a movie from 2003.

“Oh! They have flip phones! How quaint!”

Look at a movie from 2004.

“Why isn’t everyone recording a video of that? Oh. They don’t have that.”

Look at a movie from 2005.

“Why don’t they just use their phone GPS to… oh. They don’t have that app yet.”

The first Smartphone was in 1997, 16 years ago.  It had a camera, and there was only one of them. American companies like Motorola didn’t see the value in it.

The technology existed but no one could have one because major companies weren’t convinced that it was a big enough selling feature.

The “Experts” didn’t see it coming, and the playing field leveled them.

It wasn’t until 1999 – 14 years ago – that people could buy one, and then only in Japan.

Baby’s arrival inspires birth of cellphone camera — and societal evolution

The radical change of putting millions of cameras that take instant pictures and, nearly as instant, send them world-wide, was a radical, world changing, watershed event. Just like in the early 1990s when Post Offices felt the nearly immediate punch of email to their sales of physical mail (soon dubbed Snail Mail), massive film manufacturing companies, with their billions of dollars in sales, felt the punch almost immediately from camera phones, and they went down fast.

Those “Experts” didn’t see it coming either, and the playing field leveled them.

The first global news event captured by video phone was the 2004 Indian Ocean Earthquake.
The 2005 London subway bombings were the second.
The 2006 performance of Seinfeld comic, Michael Richards, at The Laugh Factory in Hollywood, California, responding to hecklers with racist slurs was the third.
By the time someone recorded the 2006 execution of Saddam Hussein (a month after the Laugh Factor, phone videos were common.
Eventually, the following year, when the technological waters of smartphone, camera, and app use were warm enough, Apple released the very first iPhone.

And that’s a paper-thin sliver of a towering wall of change in an incredibly brief amount of time that has happened to us in the last 14 years.

Now think of 14 years ago when video rental was a multi-billion dollar annual force to be reckoned with: there was Blockbuster, Hollywood Video, Jumbo Video, Movie Gallery, Ritz Video, Rogers Video, Video Library, West Coast Video, Family Video. For the last six years, since 2007, they are all dead or dying.

The “Experts” didn’t see it coming, and the playing field leveled them.

It was in 2007 that Redbox kiosks surpassed Blockbuster store locations. In 2008, Redbox surpassed 100 million in video rentals. In 2010 Redbox surpassed 1 billion rentals.

Think streaming video will take over kiosks like Redbox? Maybe. But why did the co-creator of Netflix, Mitch Lowe, leave in 2003 to helm Redbox? Why, 10 years later, is Netflix still stumbling while Redbox is flying?

Try this for a reference point.

At this speed, Redbox will have rented more movies in 10 years than McDonald’s will have sold burgers in 50.

Got that? Now get this, fellow filmmakers. Some people are pretty good at predicting bits and pieces of the future even while that can’t put those bits into an overall picture. But this is what author Greg Merritt said in 1998.

The Internet
The Onslaught of the information superhighway will be changing all the rules for video and television, and for theatrical distribution as well. With the click of a keystroke, consumers around the world will be able to activate state-of-the-art high-definition screens with digital sound, showing them any movie they wish to see, whenever they want to see it – right in their own living rooms. When this day arrives, video stores will be on their way out of business (DVD may help hasten their departure); television scheduling will be altered – or become obsolete; even theaters will be rocked to their foundations. How royalties will be paid when someone downloads your movie in Chicago or Bombay is a question yet to be answered. But one thing is for sure: independent distribution will never be the same.
– Greg Merritt, Film Production: The Complete UNCENSORED Guide to Independent Filmmaking

This week, George Lucas and Steven Spielberg admitted to the fall of the major studios.

Yet again, the playing field is leveling. 15 years ago, 300 years in technological terms, Greg Merritt called it. Are you ready to take advantage of it?

22 responses

  1. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say
    that I’ve really loved browsing your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing in your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

    August 9, 2013 at 9:40 pm

  2. Hello, I check your new stuff daily. Your writing style is awesome, keep
    doing what you’re doing!

    July 3, 2013 at 11:32 am

  3. I drop a comment when I appreciate a article on a website or if I have
    something to add to the discussion. Usually it is a result of the passion displayed in the article I looked at.
    And on this post 15 YEAR OLD PROPHECY | E.C. McMullen Jr.
    . I was actually moved enough to post a comment 🙂 I do have 2 questions for you if you do not mind.
    Is it only me or do some of the responses come across as if they
    are coming from brain dead people? 😛 And, if you are posting at other
    sites, I would like to keep up with you. Could you make a list the complete
    urls of all your social sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

    June 25, 2013 at 3:35 pm

  4. I like the valuable information you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly. I’m quite sure I will
    learn many new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

    June 25, 2013 at 4:52 am

  5. Saved as a favorite, I love your website!

    June 23, 2013 at 10:47 am

  6. bookmarked!!, I love your site!

    June 22, 2013 at 3:35 am

  7. Thanks for your personal marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed reading it,
    you are a great author.I will always bookmark your blog and may come back at some
    point. I want to encourage you continue your great posts, have a nice weekend!

    June 21, 2013 at 4:14 am

  8. This design is incredible! You obviously know how to keep a reader entertained.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own
    blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Wonderful job. I really loved what
    you had to say, and more than that, how you presented
    it. Too cool!

    June 20, 2013 at 9:17 pm

  9. wonderful issues altogether, you simply received a new reader.
    What might you recommend in regards to your submit that you made some days in the past?
    Any positive?

    June 20, 2013 at 8:59 pm

  10. Simply found the blog, great page. I hope to have your expertise one day.
    I am keeping you around.

    June 20, 2013 at 2:52 pm

  11. Wow! In the end I got a website from where I know how
    to truly take helpful information concerning my study and knowledge.

    June 20, 2013 at 1:15 pm

  12. After looking at a handful of the blog articles on your website, I honestly appreciate your technique of blogging.

    I saved it to my bookmark site list and will be checking back soon.
    Please visit my website too and tell me your opinion.

    June 20, 2013 at 10:54 am

  13. I really like what you guys are usually up too. This sort of clever work and coverage!
    Keep up the amazing works guys I’ve included you guys to my own blogroll.

    June 20, 2013 at 10:46 am

  14. It’s really a nice and helpful piece of info. I am glad that you just shared this useful information with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

    June 20, 2013 at 9:19 am

  15. I’m extremely impressed with your writing talents as neatly as with the structure to your blog. Is this a paid topic or did you modify it your self? Anyway keep up the excellent high quality writing, it is uncommon to peer a great weblog like this one these days..

    June 20, 2013 at 5:15 am

  16. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after I clicked submit my
    comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.

    Anyways, just wanted to say fantastic blog!

    June 20, 2013 at 12:25 am

  17. Wow! After all I got a web site from where I be capable of actually take useful
    information concerning my study and knowledge.

    June 19, 2013 at 10:05 pm

  18. Pretty! This has been an extremely wonderful post.
    Many thanks for providing this info.

    June 19, 2013 at 9:58 pm

  19. My brother recommended I may like this blog.
    He was once totally right. This post truly made my day.

    You can not consider simply how so much time I had spent for this info!
    Thank you!

    June 19, 2013 at 9:21 pm

  20. I’m impressed, I have to admit. Rarely do I come across a blog that’s equally educative
    and engaging, and let me tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The problem is something not enough people are speaking intelligently about. Now i’m very
    happy that I came across this in my hunt for something regarding this.

    June 19, 2013 at 2:33 pm

  21. Plus Size Dating

    Simply wish to say your article is as astonishing.
    The clarity to your post is simply nice and i could think you are
    a professional on this subject. Well together with your permission let me to
    grasp your feed to keep updated with imminent
    post. Thank you 1,000,000 and please keep up the
    gratifying work.

    June 19, 2013 at 1:35 pm

  22. Hi there! Someone in my Myspace group shared this site with us so I came to
    take a look. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting
    this to my followers! Fantastic blog and brilliant style and design.

    June 19, 2013 at 12:34 am

Leave a Reply

